Go Back   Genesis Coupe Canada > General > Multimedia

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2012, 07:40 PM
Coupe380 Coupe380 is offline
2010 3.8 GT ,
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default So I went to Dyno......

Today i went to dyno my car at Horsepower Solutions, 3 pulls... and she put down 285 WHP and 259 ft-lbs....Its not bad for an Automatic I guess... Torque is a little bit low I think its because I installed the header.

Mods:
AEM Cold Air Intake
CP-E Catback Exhaust
PA Header + tuned


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-25-2012, 08:25 PM
strykr's Avatar
strykr strykr is offline
2010 2.0T Premium AT, Mirabeau Blue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

285WHP & 259WTQ? with a 3.8, I have a feeling it shouldve been higher with the even more so with the mods you have..
__________________
'10 2.0T 5AT Mirabeau Blue
Current Mods: 3.8L Airbox w/K&N Filter / Intake Silencer Delete / 3" Custom Straight Exhaust / Rear Wing-Badge / 750cc Bosch Injectors / Kinugawa TD05-18G / CMD w/ WB2 *Current: 25Psi*
Future Mods: Oil Catch Can / Ultra-White LED License Bulbs / TurboXS Intercooler

"THE REASON GOD INVENTED TURBO LAG IS TO GIVE V8'S A CHANCE"
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-25-2012, 08:30 PM
Coupe380 Coupe380 is offline
2010 3.8 GT ,
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Yeah i know i was hoping to put down 300whp, the Manual that was with similiar mods except test pipes, he put down 311WHP, its guess mine was lower due to driveline loss in Auto, as Manual u can raise Rev limit to 7200.

My AFR ratio is pretty high at 6000 rpm, if i can figure how can bring it down or free more air flow i can put down more... Maybeee...

With 285whp i guess it pretty close to 380 crank auto... Since 2013 3.8 MT stock only put down 291 whp and 248ft-lbs at 350 crank.

Last edited by Coupe380; 05-25-2012 at 08:49 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-25-2012, 09:25 PM
strykr's Avatar
strykr strykr is offline
2010 2.0T Premium AT, Mirabeau Blue
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Auto shouldn't suffer that bad, where is your intake filter? If its in the engine bay the power loss is most likely due to warm air. For a car that makes power high in the power and you want cold air, try putting the OEM filter on if you ever go back and you probably will see an improvement. Most new cars have very well designed intake systems once the silencers and pre filters are removed.
__________________
'10 2.0T 5AT Mirabeau Blue
Current Mods: 3.8L Airbox w/K&N Filter / Intake Silencer Delete / 3" Custom Straight Exhaust / Rear Wing-Badge / 750cc Bosch Injectors / Kinugawa TD05-18G / CMD w/ WB2 *Current: 25Psi*
Future Mods: Oil Catch Can / Ultra-White LED License Bulbs / TurboXS Intercooler

"THE REASON GOD INVENTED TURBO LAG IS TO GIVE V8'S A CHANCE"
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-25-2012, 10:27 PM
GCFTW GCFTW is offline
2011 2.0T Base MT, Bathurst Black
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 369
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Nice numbers, the raised rpm would make a difference; on your sheet its still climbing nicely. Call the guys and see if they will send you the uncorrected dyno numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-25-2012, 11:36 PM
Coupe380 Coupe380 is offline
2010 3.8 GT ,
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Thanks Brad, i climbed up nicely until it reached 6500 (limit for auto )
What uncorrected dyno number? Sorry i never heard of im a noob on these dyno and car tuning ...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-26-2012, 12:14 AM
GCFTW GCFTW is offline
2011 2.0T Base MT, Bathurst Black
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 369
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Dynos use whats called standard correction, it corrects for atmospheric conditions, ie, temperature, humidity, elevation etc.
Getting uncorrected numbers will tell you how much horsepower you made that day on that dyno.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-26-2012, 09:17 AM
Coupe380 Coupe380 is offline
2010 3.8 GT ,
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 246
Thanks: 1
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I see,,, they didn't show me anything like that so i dont know if they will send it to me or not...

They dynoed my car without turn on the fan like other people dyno their car.... its pretty fast... strapped up... 1 pull, second, and third pull done.. its in less than an hour...

Question: as you can see my AFR ratio at around 3000-4000rpm is look ok, but when it reached 6000+rpm it started to climbed up higher... how to check and fix that? Could CEL in my car after header caused that?

Last edited by Coupe380; 05-26-2012 at 09:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-26-2012, 09:35 AM
BHbomber's Avatar
BHbomber BHbomber is offline
2010 3.8 GT MT, Bathurst Black
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 707
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

The numbers are pretty good but I would have expected a little closer to 300whp. You have a PA flash right? Rafal was going to Calgary yesterday to Dyno his car and he has the BTRCC flash. I want to see what his turns.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-26-2012, 10:10 AM
GCFTW GCFTW is offline
2011 2.0T Base MT, Bathurst Black
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 369
Thanks: 1
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Coupe380 View Post
I see,,, they didn't show me anything like that so i dont know if they will send it to me or not...

They dynoed my car without turn on the fan like other people dyno their car.... its pretty fast... strapped up... 1 pull, second, and third pull done.. its in less than an hour...

Question: as you can see my AFR ratio at around 3000-4000rpm is look ok, but when it reached 6000+rpm it started to climbed up higher... how to check and fix that? Could CEL in my car after header caused that?
They should have turned the fan on, it would help especially with your CAI.
If they put a sniffer in the tail pipe, then your afr could be off( lean) up 1 afr because of the distance and the cats, and if you have an exhaust leak before the wideband you will also show lean.

If they just pulled one of your 02 sensors and stuck in the wideband there, then you are running lean and the tune would have to be adjusted to fix it.

A cel wont cause you to go lean, if any it will cause rich condition for safety and sometimes limits throttle.
On my car depending on what cel I get, my throttle can be limited to 30, 78, 80 or 86, at 78 my afr richens up to about .8
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.