Genesis Coupe Canada

Genesis Coupe Canada (http://www.gencoupe.ca/index.php)
-   Technical (http://www.gencoupe.ca/forumdisplay.php?f=33)
-   -   Removing Stock Deck and Replacing with Double-Din Touch Screen (http://www.gencoupe.ca/showthread.php?t=1270)

Jewce 07-25-2013 06:07 PM

Removing Stock Deck and Replacing with Double-Din Touch Screen

Hi everyone,

Since the times of aftermarket stereo installations has changed since the last time i purchased a car, i'm in a bit of a dilemma. I'm in the process of purchasing a 13 Genesis Coupe 2.0T Base. Sadly i couldnt get the financing for the premium so i'm missing out on the infinity system with GPS. I'm new to this whole "new cars with everything built into the dashboard" When i had my Accent, it was easy to upgrade the deck since there were no extras for me to deal with. By the looks of it, the system is in 2 pieces: the main blue display and the controls. If i remove the controls and replace it with a Double-Din touch screen (using the Double-din Metra kit), will i lose functionality of the blue screen which is showing me my interior/exterior temperatures as well as my climate controls?

Please help!

javaman 07-25-2013 08:23 PM

Hi Welcome to the forums.

I'm not to familiar with the 2013 stock deck but in the 2009-2012 models you could buy a bezel with and lcd relocation kit to get the stock deck functionality

http://www.poweraxel.net/index.php/b...ion-kit-1.html

Some people in this forum used that solution to install tablets as their gps units.

Not to sure if such a thing exists for the 2013s.

Welcome to the forum

P

Jewce 07-25-2013 09:33 PM

Thank you javaman for the welcoming.